Mitsubishi Eclipse 3G Club banner

Jaloosk's Build Log

16K views 102 replies 19 participants last post by  Ken 
#1 · (Edited)
OK So I got this Spyder. Super happy with it. Love the way it drives, the 30mpg, and can't wait to get the titties out when the weather warms up. :yesway:

I've been a car audio hobbyist for the better part of my life, and because of that my first major project is completely replacing the sound system in the Spyder.

My goals are simple:

Loud & Clear.

Basically, I want to enter it into some SQ shows, yet at the same time have enough headroom to be able to listen at healthy volumes on the highway with the top down. It's not going to be a flashy install; I want it to be stealth for the most part. Oh, and I want to get a set of golf clubs in the trunk when it's all said and done too.

Now because of my family responsibilities, I'm on somewhat of a tight budget, so most of the gear I'm using has been "repurposed". (read: used) Because of that, some of the pieces aren't exactly pretty, but their sonic character has not been compromised, so I'll just need some lipstick & mascara to pretty it up. So to that end, let me introduce you to the equipment that's being installed:

Amplifiers:

Soundstream LW5.830, a 5-channel amplifier, which will be bridged; sending 280w RMS to the front two channels, and 270w to a sub channel. The sub channel will not be used. This amplifier will be powering the front speakers; two ID Horns, and two CDT 6.5" midbass drivers.

Sub Amp:

Phoenix Gold Xenon 1200.1; 1200w RMS into 1 4-ohm channel. This amp has a lot of cosmetic "inconsistencies", however works just fine. I will be mounting this in the trunk floor, without the housing, to show off the internals. Sorry for the crappy pic, the battery in my camera was dying.

Front Horns, and Front mid-bass drivers:

The front stage consists of Image Dynamics CD-1E horns, that will mount under the dash:

...and CDT midbass drivers, model ES-06: