broke timing belt on 2003 Eclipse GS 2.4 - Club3G Forum : Mitsubishi Eclipse 3G Forums
Go Back   Club3G Forum : Mitsubishi Eclipse 3G Forums > Welcome Forums > New Members Forum
Club3G Decals

Club3G.com is the premier Mitsubishi Eclipse Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

Old 07/07/2011, 08:34 PM   #1 (permalink)

buckz6319 : who are you?
broke timing belt on 2003 Eclipse GS 2.4

I'm new to the forum and looking forward to some guidance on replacing the timing belt on my daughters car.I have been wrenching for many years but not a professional mechanic,more of a diy guy.I have changed out timing belts several times on my own 95 Toyota 4runner 4x4, which had 3.0 V-6 before I sold it a few years ago.I also like to work on small engines for a few friends and myself,however given that short introduction

I'm not familiar with the Mitsubishi 2.4.I did have to replace the fuel pump in this car a few months ago. when my daughter called me Tuesday night, about her car breaking down,I thought her fuel pump went out again.I had the car towed home and got a look at it Wednesday morning and ruled out the fuel pump being the cause of the engine quitting.The problem turns out to be a broken timing belt (see pic) I think this is the original timing belt, the p.o. said he changed it but had no receipts, it looks old to me?

My daughter was driving her 2003 Mitsubishi Eclipse GS 2.4 with 124,000 on the clock,she said that " I slowing down to stop at a stop sign, and the engine quit running and would not restart again",,good thing she was going slow so maybe the valves are okay,knowing that this is a interference engine from searching this forum.

I pulled all plugs and they look normal,also looked down each plug hole with a bright flash light, saw no marks on the pistons,and all was clean, no carbon build up visible or broken parts on the piston top.I really don;t know if it has valve train issue at this point