Brand new Brakes Grinding - Club3G Forum : Mitsubishi Eclipse 3G Forums
Go Back   Club3G Forum : Mitsubishi Eclipse 3G Forums > Performance & Tech Forums > Problem Reports
Club3G Decals

Club3G.com is the premier Mitsubishi Eclipse Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

Old 11/10/2010, 12:17 AM   #1 (permalink)
Can't Spell.........

Vehicle: 2000 Eclipse GT
bassnitup seems to be okaybassnitup seems to be okaybassnitup seems to be okaybassnitup seems to be okaybassnitup seems to be okaybassnitup seems to be okay
Question Brand new Brakes Grinding

So, I just put on new rotors and pads in the rear. As well as new fluid in the system, and new front brakes about 3 +/- months ago. Now, I am a decent enough mechanic that I feel everything went ok, but I believe any mistake could have been made. So, the first thing I noticed was a grinding while I am braking, louder at slower speeds. The second is a rubbing at lower speeds with no braking (as well as in turns, it does get louder in turns). I did compress the wheel cylinders all the way, and use that fluid level as my indicator level..... So it may be possible that there is too much fluid, and maybe the pads can't retract all the way. .... But that makes no sense, I think I'm just kind of digging for answeres there.

Also, kind of related, over the past month or so, there has been a pulsating noise when I brake that I assosiated with the fact that I knew I needed new rear pads. Except that It is still there among these new noises. If anyone could help me with either issue, it would be apreciated. I will be opening it up when I get home from work tomorrow. thanks guys
bassnitup is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11/10/2010, 09:21 AM   #2 (permalink)
Angry Gorilla

Vehicle: 03 Eclipse GTS