Crankshaft Position Sensor Location??? - Club3G Forum : Mitsubishi Eclipse 3G Forums
Go Back   Club3G Forum : Mitsubishi Eclipse 3G Forums > Performance & Tech Forums > Problem Reports
Club3G Decals

Club3G.com is the premier Mitsubishi Eclipse Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05/19/2011, 03:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Member
 

Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 12
thekingofvtec : who are you?
Crankshaft Position Sensor Location???

I have a 2002 Spyder GT, 5-Speed

i've narrowed the issues down to the CPS. Cranks, getting fuel, won't start. Behaved completely normal, then the next morning, would do nothing more than crank.

Sources have told me you must remove the timing belt to replace it on the 3.0 V6. The timing cover is already off, but i just had this thing timed a couple months ago, not wanting todo it again.

ANY HELP?
thekingofvtec is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05/19/2011, 03:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
mitsu3g01's Avatar
 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: California
Vehicle: 01 GS
Posts: 1,667
mitsu3g01 should be considered a regularmitsu3g01 should be considered a regularmitsu3g01 should be considered a regularmitsu3g01 should be considered a regularmitsu3g01 should be considered a regularmitsu3g01 should be considered a regularmitsu3g01 should be considered a regularmitsu3g01 should be considered a regularmitsu3g01 should be considered a regularmitsu3g01 should be considered a regularmitsu3g01 should be considered a regular
ya, replace the sensor. this happened to me, but when i was on the freeway. not very fun.

take of the timing belt cover and the motor mount on that side and it is the wire that is in the middle of it. right next to the small oil pump belt i believe.

not a fun job i might ad. good luck
mitsu3g01 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05/19/2011, 03:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Member
 

Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 12
thekingofvtec : who are you?
just the timing belt cover? not the actual belt?
thekingofvtec is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05/19/2011, 03:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
mitsu3g01's Avatar
 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: California
Vehicle: 01 GS
Posts: 1,667
mitsu3g01 should be considered a regularmitsu3g01 should be considered a regularmitsu3g01 should be considered a regularmitsu3g01 should be considered a regularmitsu3g01 should be considered a regularmitsu3g01 should be considered a regularmitsu3g01 should be considered a regularmitsu3g01 should be considered a regularmitsu3g01 should be considered a regularmitsu3g01 should be considered a regularmitsu3g01 should be considered a regular
im pretty sure your gonna have to take the belt off. cant remember i did the job a long time ago.
mitsu3g01 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05/19/2011, 03:41 PM   #5 (permalink)
ECLIPTO
 
davila825's Avatar
 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ames, Iowa
Vehicle: 00 eclipse gt
Posts: 2,069
davila825 has a few friends heredavila825 has a few friends heredavila825 has a few friends heredavila825 has a few friends heredavila825 has a few friends heredavila825 has a few friends heredavila825 has a few friends heredavila825 has a few friends heredavila825 has a few friends here
Quote:
Originally Posted by mitsu3g01 View Post
ya, replace the sensor. this happened to me, but when i was on the freeway. not very fun.

take of the timing belt cover and the motor mount on that side and it is the wire that is in the middle of it. right next to the small oil pump belt i believe.

not a fun job i might ad. good luck
wtf are you talking about! there is no need to take off mount. and there is no oil pump belt.

1.) locate the cps sensor wiring. it runs on top by the timing cover. I believe its mounted on the intake manifold.

2.)take off wheel and all accessory belts.

3.)take off crank pulley

4.) take off lower timing cover

5) then you should see the cps sensor secured by two 10mm bolts

6.) the wiring is run through the lower timing cover, so its kinda tricky

7.) make sure you run the wire correctly because you run the risk of it rubbing on the timing belt thus exposing live wire and ultimately ruining the new cps

refer to How To: Change the Timing Belt on the V6 *WITH PICTURES*
davila825 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05/19/2011, 03:44 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Member
 

Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 12
thekingofvtec : who are you?
@davila ok, so it doesnt sound like a very intensive process...?

the timing cover is already completely off. so no need to remove the belt?
thekingofvtec is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05/19/2011, 03:48 PM   #7 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
mitsu3g01's Avatar
 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: California
Vehicle: 01 GS
Posts: 1,667
mitsu3g01 should be considered a regularmitsu3g01 should be considered a regularmitsu3g01 should be considered a regularmitsu3g01 should be considered a regularmitsu3g01 should be considered a regularmitsu3g01 should be considered a regularmitsu3g01 should be considered a regularmitsu3g01 should be considered a regularmitsu3g01 should be considered a regularmitsu3g01 should be considered a regularmitsu3g01 should be considered a regular
just noticed for a gt. so what belt is inside the perimeter of the timing belt? and when i did mine, taking off the mount is easier, unless you have the hands of a five year old.
mitsu3g01 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05/19/2011, 03:49 PM   #8 (permalink)
ECLIPTO
 
davila825's Avatar
 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ames, Iowa
Vehicle: 00 eclipse gt
Posts: 2,069
davila825 has a few friends heredavila825 has a few friends heredavila825 has a few friends heredavila825 has a few friends heredavila825 has a few friends heredavila825 has a few friends heredavila825 has a few friends heredavila825 has a few friends heredavila825 has a few friends here
now that i think about....while your down there you might as well do 60k service, if you haven't already....if you decide to do it.. i suggest.....new timing belt, new timing belt tensioners, water pump, cam and crank seals, heck while your at new drive belts. just a suggestion it will save a lot of trouble further down the road. i am speaking from experience. well good luck and keep us posted on how it goes
davila825 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05/19/2011, 03:51 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Member
 

Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 12
thekingofvtec : who are you?
already been done. it has 80k miles on it. everything down there is practically new. everything was put on except the cover. but for the CPS, no need to remove the belt?
thekingofvtec is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05/19/2011, 03:53 PM   #10 (permalink)
ECLIPTO
 
davila825's Avatar
 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ames, Iowa
Vehicle: 00 eclipse gt
Posts: 2,069
davila825 has a few friends heredavila825 has a few friends heredavila825 has a few friends heredavila825 has a few friends heredavila825 has a few friends heredavila825 has a few friends heredavila825 has a few friends heredavila825 has a few friends heredavila825 has a few friends here
Quote:
Originally Posted by mitsu3g01 View Post
just noticed for a gt. so what belt is inside the perimeter of the timing belt? and when i did mine, taking off the mount is easier, unless you have the hands of a five year old.
well if your replacing the timing belt then removing the mount is essential.

the only belts on the gt are three. the timing belt is inside the timing cover so you dont see that. there are two that go around the crank pulley. one for the power steering and the other goes to a/c and alternator

taking off the drive belts does not involve taking off motor mount
davila825 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05/19/2011, 03:54 PM   #11 (permalink)
ECLIPTO
 
davila825's Avatar
 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ames, Iowa
Vehicle: 00 eclipse gt
Posts: 2,069
davila825 has a few friends heredavila825 has a few friends heredavila825 has a few friends heredavila825 has a few friends heredavila825 has a few friends heredavila825 has a few friends heredavila825 has a few friends heredavila825 has a few friends heredavila825 has a few friends here
Quote:
Originally Posted by thekingofvtec View Post
already been done. it has 80k miles on it. everything down there is practically new. everything was put on except the cover. but for the CPS, no need to remove the belt?
no need to remove timing belt, but you do need to remove the two drive belts to gain access to the cps
davila825 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05/19/2011, 03:59 PM   #12 (permalink)
Junior Member
 

Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 12
thekingofvtec : who are you?
ahhh okay thanks. thats what i needed to know. timing belts disturb me, between Mitsu's and Honda's, its enough work.
thekingofvtec is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05/27/2011, 11:20 AM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Member
 

Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 12
thekingofvtec : who are you?
Update...

Replaced CKP sensor, code went away, then came back. Still wont start.

Camshaft Position Sensor maybe... but its getting spark. If the sensor inside the distributor is messed up, would it still spark???
thekingofvtec is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05/27/2011, 12:11 PM   #14 (permalink)
ECLIPTO
 
davila825's Avatar
 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ames, Iowa
Vehicle: 00 eclipse gt
Posts: 2,069
davila825 has a few friends heredavila825 has a few friends heredavila825 has a few friends heredavila825 has a few friends heredavila825 has a few friends heredavila825 has a few friends heredavila825 has a few friends heredavila825 has a few friends heredavila825 has a few friends here
you say the code went away, did you unplug the battery for 10-15 min to clear the codes? how long was it gone for?
davila825 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05/27/2011, 01:46 PM   #15 (permalink)
Junior Member
 

Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 12
thekingofvtec : who are you?
yea i cleared the codes out. umm after attempting to start it for about 5 mins, it came back. but... i think i found the issue.

so i discovered the spark plugs were wet from gasoline, so i decided to change them, figuring spark would suffer, so i took off the upper intake manifold to get to the rear plugs, and just out of curiosity looked down into the lower manifold, and... the intake valves were wide open. EVERY SINGLE ONE OF THEM.

so i turned the crank a few times, all of the rocker arms, cams move, but seems the valves don't. the valves and pistons never made contact during this process, so idk what the hell is going on. even if the timing was off, which i don't believe it is, it still doesn't explain why ALL of the intake valves were open at the same time.

*cries* *wants to beat car with hammer*
thekingofvtec is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05/28/2011, 11:28 AM   #16 (permalink)
Member
 

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: connecticut
Vehicle: 2001 eclipse gt
Posts: 41
anthony4901 : who are you?
EXACTLY ... CPS IS SO SIMPLE ...
wtf are you talking about! there is no need to take off mount. and there is no oil pump belt.

1.) locate the cps sensor wiring. it runs on top by the timing cover. I believe its mounted on the intake manifold.

2.)take off wheel and all accessory belts.

3.)take off crank pulley

4.) take off lower timing cover

5) then you should see the cps sensor secured by two 10mm bolts

6.) the wiring is run through the lower timing cover, so its kinda tricky

7.) make sure you run the wire correctly because you run the risk of it rubbing on the timing belt thus exposing live wire and ultimately ruining the new cps

refer to How To: Change the Timing Belt on the V6 *WITH PICTURES*
anthony4901 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05/28/2011, 02:42 PM   #17 (permalink)
ECLIPTO
 
davila825's Avatar
 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ames, Iowa
Vehicle: 00 eclipse gt
Posts: 2,069
davila825 has a few friends heredavila825 has a few friends heredavila825 has a few friends heredavila825 has a few friends heredavila825 has a few friends heredavila825 has a few friends heredavila825 has a few friends heredavila825 has a few friends heredavila825 has a few friends here
Quote:
Originally Posted by anthony4901 View Post
EXACTLY ... CPS IS SO SIMPLE ...
wtf are you talking about! there is no need to take off mount. and there is no oil pump belt.

1.) locate the cps sensor wiring. it runs on top by the timing cover. I believe its mounted on the intake manifold.

2.)take off wheel and all accessory belts.

3.)take off crank pulley

4.) take off lower timing cover

5) then you should see the cps sensor secured by two 10mm bolts

6.) the wiring is run through the lower timing cover, so its kinda tricky

7.) make sure you run the wire correctly because you run the risk of it rubbing on the timing belt thus exposing live wire and ultimately ruining the new cps

refer to How To: Change the Timing Belt on the V6 *WITH PICTURES*

read the entire thread before you post noob!...hes already replaced the cps.
davila825 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05/29/2011, 12:24 PM   #18 (permalink)
Junior Member
 

Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 12
thekingofvtec : who are you?
Quote:
Originally Posted by davila825 View Post
read the entire thread before you post noob!...hes already replaced the cps.
lmao.
thekingofvtec is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06/01/2011, 07:58 PM   #19 (permalink)
Junior Member
 

Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 12
thekingofvtec : who are you?
UPDATE: All of the intake valves are bent! Not really sure how, the timing belt didn't break, and from what i'm told, the car was running.

I played around with it, turning the crank, and at no point did all the timing marks line up, so i'm just going to assume its previous owner was a complete idiot. and a liar. lol
thekingofvtec is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06/15/2011, 10:53 PM   #20 (permalink)
ECLIPTO
 
davila825's Avatar
 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ames, Iowa
Vehicle: 00 eclipse gt
Posts: 2,069
davila825 has a few friends heredavila825 has a few friends heredavila825 has a few friends heredavila825 has a few friends heredavila825 has a few friends heredavila825 has a few friends heredavila825 has a few friends heredavila825 has a few friends heredavila825 has a few friends here
so where you driving it with bent valves?
davila825 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11/23/2011, 04:48 AM   #21 (permalink)
Junior Member
 

Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 2
Vince86 : who are you?
Quote:
Originally Posted by thekingofvtec View Post
UPDATE: All of the intake valves are bent! Not really sure how, the timing belt didn't break, and from what i'm told, the car was running.

I played around with it, turning the crank, and at no point did all the timing marks line up, so i'm just going to assume its previous owner was a complete idiot. and a liar. lol
This car wouldn't be in Monongahela, PA would it?
Vince86 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Club3G Forum : Mitsubishi Eclipse 3G Forums > Performance & Tech Forums > Problem Reports

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Club3G Forum : Mitsubishi Eclipse 3G Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:02 AM.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.