Mitsubishi Eclipse 3G Club banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
107 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im getting an Audiobahn AW1206T 12" sub and im really confused about the kind of amp to get. The sub pushes 1100 rms at 4ohms. So i was wondering if i have to get an amp that pushes the same rms and the same amount ohms. Or can i get something smaller and just get less power out of the sub? since an amp that size costs alot. thanks.

·
Registered
107 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
ya im not an expert on this. So it gets 1100rms at 2 ohms which means it will hit harder but has alot less range then at 8 ohms. am i right?

·
Let it wang
962 Posts
ya im not an expert on this. So it gets 1100rms at 2 ohms which means it will hit harder but has alot less range then at 8 ohms. am i right?
it would be the same at 8 ohms, but i don't think there are any amps that put out 1000 watts @ 8ohms.
most amps usually put out max power at either 1 or 2 ohms and then the watts decrease as the impedance(ohms) increases.
i.e. [email protected] [email protected] [email protected]
so, if you bought an amp that put out [email protected], you are buying an amp that is rated much higher at lower impedance and will be much more expensive.

·
Let it wang
962 Posts
That one would work.
I would go with a mono amp, which means it only has one channel. That should be a category you can choose on ebay just for them.
The one you linked is a 2channel, which is fine because it puts out the correct wattage.

·
Registered
107 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
alright so the mono would be like 1 X 1100 rms at 2 ohms that would be the right thing to get. ya sorry i feel like a dumbass. but also what size capacitor would u get with this

·
Registered
107 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·