Mitsubishi Eclipse 3G Club banner

1 - 20 of 96 Posts

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Okay I know everyone and there mom has heard about the DOHC conversion, and everyone starts a post asking all kinds of the same questions, I am going to hopefully try and successfully do the conversion, possibly add a turbo, and post my status. A little bit about me, I am a senior mechanical engineering student at Washington University in St. Louis. I have owned my 2.4 eclipse for over five years and have done minor things such as; full kit, 18" excel rims, several different audio system set ups, full dash painted (with automotive paint, not rattle can), lighting, spoiler, cold air intake, lowered, new transmission and other things that just made my car either less reliable or harder to park, (i.e. replacing front bumper several times due to being to damn low). Well the reason I decided to tackle the DOHC conversion/turbo, is because I had already properly port matched and polished the SOHC head, and although I did notice a substantial power gain, I just hate the idea of SOHC, and I love to drive turbo cars. The purpose is not to try and make a drag car, but a daily driver with some balls. (If I want to go fast I’ll just hop on my bike.) I have already purchased most of the necessary components needed, but am trying to track down the harder to find parts, like the various gaskets. I went the hyundai route, because I found a head with less than 10,000 miles on it for $160. Rather than dick with replacing the timing components in the cramped engine bay, I went to the junk yard and pulled out a short block 4g64 with low miles, and put it on an engine stand, and will drop it in as one completed piece. As far as the turbo goes I got a tiny TE04H that I think is off of a shadow, or some other Dodge pos. However the price I paid for it justifies the means. (It was free.) Hopefully I will post some pics to show my progress thus far. Also as a side note a lot of these