Mitsubishi Eclipse 3G Club banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok so here is my situation. I bought my eclipse about 4 months ago and it has been driving great. Recently, the service engine soon light has come on. I replaced the gas cap after some testing and the light went off for a couple days. It later came back on and gave me the same code which is P0455 gross evap leak. I have read some other threads on it and it sounds like it could be a purge solenoid and im not sure where that is on my 2.4L '02 eclipse gs. I did some looking but i just cant seem to find it. please help this girl haha im still learning :)

·
Registered
666 Posts
Evap could be a couple different things. The problem I had was my gas filler neck was rotted out. There is a cover where the filler neck bends under the car, the cover gets filled with dirt and holds in moisture which eventually rots the filler neck.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
i found the solenoid so i just have to do some testing to make sure thats what it is. This has been a pain in the ass haha. I did replace the gas cap and it wasn't that so i have that crossed out.

·
Manual Swapped!!
5,977 Posts
Evap could be a couple different things. The problem I had was my gas filler neck was rotted out. There is a cover where the filler neck bends under the car, the cover gets filled with dirt and holds in moisture which eventually rots the filler neck.
That's was my problem too

·
Registered
791 Posts
No way! I found this on my car a month after I bought it. The stuff was so hard-packed in there I thought it was some kind of Mitsubishi sound deadener at first. :) Then I poked it with a screwdriver and found out it was just a huge pile of dirt/debris. Luckily mine didn't rot out, was a little rusty though.

I thought the previous owner backed the car into a muddy ditch or something :D glad to know it wasn't the previous owner, just a common issue.

·
Registered
11 Posts