Mitsubishi Eclipse 3G Club banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am trying to fabricate a fiberglass speaker box similar to this

These are my rough sketches so far

i have some experience with sound systems and fiberglass. I have never worked with woven fiberglass matting. I am curious to how many layers i should have to make the box rigid. I have been told i should not lay more than 3 or 4 layer without letting the those 3 to 4 layers cure completely.

I am planning on laying a piece of MDF wood shaped to the spare tire well on the support brace to make a flat surface to lay fiberglass on. I do not want to remove the support bar in the spare tire well that the spare tire bolts to for fear of losing some frame rigidity. I also do not want to remove the brace that holds the spare tire closest to the back of the car in the spare tire well so i can get a level surface to lay the MDF wood on .

I am planning on using MDF wood to make the top of the box/raised trunk floor. I am going to have the MDF wood cut into 3 sections. 2 side pieces to make the trunk floor level. One piece to be the top of the speaker box. I am going to have 1/2" wood posts holding the corners of the Top box to the bottom approximately 11" inches apart from the bottom MDF wood in the spare tire well.

I then plan on wrapping Lycra or some similar material over the top MDF wood piece and over the 1/2" wood post and over the bottom MDF wood piece. I will do this in 2 separate stages. Once doing the top section. Once that is cured with however many layers are needed. I will then finish matting it on the bottom.

I plan on cutting the fiberglass matting into roughly 5" to 6" squares

Similar to this

I am planning on having one 12" Alpine type X

I am told i should trim out the hole for the speaker after the first few layers cure.

I might have left out some steps and been vague on others.