Mitsubishi Eclipse 3G Club banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
Eclipse, 00', 03' 4g64, 01' 5 speed
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've replaced the alternator 3 times and it still won't hold a charge. Won't run without jumper cables or only on a fully charged battery. I've started checking the grounds but after chasing the terminal I only found two! The one on the tranny and the one to the starter. I might just be ignorant but I'm still learning simple things. I was wondering if anyone's got any tips? -Dom

·
Registered
2001 Spyder GT. Koni adjustable shocks. cold air intake, ST sway bar.17X8.5 rims. LED headlights.
405 Posts
My quick check on an alternator is to put a meter on the battery posts and take a voltage reading with the engine off. Then start the engine and take a second reading. Normally there should be a rise in voltage indicating the alternator is working. You can also use a meter to check for proper grounds and loose terminals. If the fuse is blown, that should be apparent when you get no sign of voltage rise at the battery posts when you start the engine. Diagnosing problems by throwing parts at it gets expensive fast. ...J.D.

·
Registered
10 Posts
@Dominic-Ezra

Easiest thing is to bring your battery to get tested first to ensure this is not the cause. Then I would do the following if the battery is good;

I would suggest disconnecting the battery and checking for continuity with a multimeter from your alternator output to your positive battery cable, you should have continuity. If you don't have continuity performing the above test, you should check your fuseable link or for any melted / shorted or broken wires. As someone else mentioned above, you should have around 12 volts DC from your battery with car off, and 14 + volts DC when the engine is running.