Mitsubishi Eclipse 3G Club banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Rockstar in training
1,532 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I'm new to photography, but it has always been something I've wanted to do. For a while I've been planning to buy a DSLR to get started with, and today was the day. I was going to get a Pentax K10D, but no stores had any, so I ended up getting a Canon EOS 40D at Best Buy. It's definitely overkill for me being a beginner and all, but I wanted to get a camera that I can grow into as my hobby progresses, rather than getting a camera that I will grow out of.

Any helpful tips anyone can provide me to help guide me along would be much appreciated.

·
Registered
1,690 Posts
Nice! Last year I picked up a Nikon D50 for the same purpose...I'm still learning how to use the SLR features though...who knows, maybe one of these days I'll break down and take a photography class...

·
Rockstar in training
1,532 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
That's what I'm thinking of doing. I talked with somebody from a local camera shop, and they said they give classes for about $25.

·
Rockstar in training
1,532 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
The camera was roughly $1,420, and after all was said and done after buying the camera, CF card, bag, tripod, and UV filter, it all came to about $1,800. The camera came with an EF 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM lens.

·
I Wangs
43,483 Posts
honestly, and I have the 20D so i'm by no means saying the 40d is a bad camera...but you probably could have just bought the XTi and not grown out of it. those two camera have almost identical features and the ones the XTi is missing isn't a big deal. like ISO 3200 and I don't think it's got the white balance correction grid. but congrats though. you will like that camera either way and that lens (I have that too) takes really great photos. IS comes in VERY handy.

·
I Wangs
43,483 Posts