Mitsubishi Eclipse 3G Club banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
04 GS Manual
Hello im new to club 3g and have a problem, hopefully someone can help, still havnt been able to fix it.
Car was fine turned it on one morning and it started misfiring and sputtering bad around 4k rpm, almost like if i had a 2 step on, ive replaced ckp, cmp, O2s, Maf, coils, plugs and wires, i have no cat, fuel press is good and injectors are clean, checked timing and its good. I used to have a random miss code and o2sensor code but both went away once new o2 sensor was installed. Car idles ok very fee mis here and there but under acceleration wot or easy it sputters and pop really bad around 4k rpms.
Things ima do next are egr delete, and looking maybe into the knock sensor any other ideas i will gladly appreciate it. Im in a very rural island in alaska and have taken about 1 year just to get the car to where it is now because of of how long it takes to get parts here. HELP!!! Lol

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Compression is good, whats weird to me to me is that it was good one day next morning went to start it and it was mest up, so i feel like its something electrical but so far the obvious it hasnt been it

·
Registered
8 Posts
Haz, I feel your pain. Mine gets random misfires that come and go ever since I had the timing belt replaced.

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
Seems like you're throwing a lot of money into the thing for nothing. An Alaskan car you say? I'd start with inspecting and cleaning all the grounds in the engine bay.
So its a Florida car i drove it all the way Trough canada To Homer, Ak put it on ferry to get to dutch harbor and once i got here it still drove great gor about another months as if its loosing its will to live lol but its hotta be electrical its what im thinking, grounds are good, did restance checks on most of the wiring the wiring

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #10