Mitsubishi Eclipse 3G Club banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
4g64T
640 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Quick question, I'm new to owning an eclipse but not to mitsubishi. I own a 2000 Mit. Eclipse GS 5 speed with 70,753mi exactly. Ok heres the problemS. Heat cools with at idle (probably thermo. so not worried I'll replace it tomorrow) The car idles oddly, for example when it has finally reached running temp. the needle will bounce between 700 and 400 rpms and feels as if it is stuttering. Also when the car is off but in On key position i hear this odd clicking under the hood??? While i was parked i waited for it to do it's odd idle, when it starting boucing i turned on the AC full blast to try to put some load on the motor at idle and idle quickly droped to 300 and the for a split second tried to stall and the oil light and battery light blinked but it regain normal idle and stoped boucing for a while and commenced to go with it's stubburn idle issue. This may have nothing to do with it but i had no problem with the idle untill i disconnected my battery to install my dvd player. when i pulled the negative off (which i did first) it had a crack on the back and was really easy to pull off and put back on. Today i replaced the Positive battery terminal because battery acid ate it up and i was hooking up my Amplifier. Could this ground cable be the culprate to my problem????....any ways the car is in great shape..but im not sure if the timming belt was changed at 60,000mi so im making an appointment first thing in the morning with mitsubishi to have that taking care of along with the water pump and so on. I appreciate any of your advice.

The only mod i've done is a K&N Short Ram Intake and a system.

·
Registered
1,690 Posts