Mitsubishi Eclipse 3G Club banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
75 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well, I am a network engineer and not a mechanic (or even close) but I am quite brave :p I have done a lot of repairs to the car myself becuase it is cheaper and sometimes I get it done better :p
I usually just need a little guidance so I have a better idea on what I am doing.
My started just started to make noise like if I kept trying to start the car even though it is on. I know that this is probably something to do with something on the starter being wear down, but what is it and how difficult is to fix? Input greatly appreciated.
My belts also need replacement because it is doing that annoying noise when the belt is slipping. With the belts I am going to have some help to install from someone that actually knows mitsu eclipse, but I need to buy the parts and I was wondering what were the recommendations. Is it the same if I get them from a dealer than if I get the parts from somewhere else?
I was told also that I should replace the timing belt as well. Any suggestions for that?
and since we are going to be opening the motor to replace the timing belt, anything else that I should look at to replace?
My car is a GT 01 with 129K miles. It was sitting for 10 months so I just replaced several things (and still need to replace some brake parts that are rusted) so money is a bit tight since I already spent a lot, but I always try to replace the parts with better or performance parts, and the best time to do it is when parts need to be replaced ;)
Please let me know what are your thoughts

·
BoomGoesTheDynaMitt
7,180 Posts