Mitsubishi Eclipse 3G Club banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Motivational Speaker
1,200 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I want to add strength training, I have been doing daily cardio for over 2 months now with decent results, but want to start building some muscle mass. I know the best way to do this would be to join a gym and use free weights, but between work and family I just don't have the time. I can spend some time at home doing this though. So my question is what is my best option for home strength training. So far I have looked at two options:

1) The selectable weight dumbbells like Bowflex Selecttech
2) Bowflex Revolution home gym

Would prefer to go with the dumbbells (much cheaper) if they are sufficient, but was curious if the home gym would give a more complete solution? Or is there a better option I am missing? (no free weights at home. Nobody to work with and a 5 year old around the house makes them dangerous.)

·
Frank
3,940 Posts
Never used the BowFlex machines but they look to have a lot of versatility. Im sure they're quite expensive. I'd look through craigslist for a used one.

·
Registered
5,882 Posts
I dont like the boflex....Its unstable and most people who use it develop crap form. I would grab some dumbells, a barbell, and some plates. Then get a 45 degree seated bench and a adjustable flat bench (one that has a thing to hold a barbell would be best). I can think of a million exercises i could do with just a barbell, dumbell, and bench.

·
Motivational Speaker
1,200 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I dont like the boflex....Its unstable and most people who use it develop crap form. I would grab some dumbells, a barbell, and some plates. Then get a 45 degree seated bench and a adjustable flat bench (one that has a thing to hold a barbell would be best). I can think of a million exercises i could do with just a barbell, dumbell, and bench.