Mitsubishi Eclipse 3G Club banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone, eclipse novice here, I have a terrible shake in my steering wheel when I brake, typically at any speed above 30mph. I bought my 2000 gt with 98k miles on it and have put almost 7k miles on it since june. I am not sure if the suspension or brakes had any recent work, (besides brake lines). I plan on replacing the rotors soon with these as there is visible wear on them.

2000 Mitsubishi Eclipse 3.0L V6 Power Stop OEK Brake Kits - Best Price OE Powerstop Ceramic Brake Pad & Rotor Kit

I would be willing to cough up some more cash but Im not sure if drilled/slotted will give me any noticeable change. Will the rear brakes need to be adjusted/replaced if the front ones are?

As for my suspension....I feel every nook and cranny and bump in the road. The front shocks probably haven't been touched ever.... I know kyb gr-2's are recommended highly here and I have found them at a reasonable price

KYB GR-2 Shocks and Struts, KYB Shock Absorbers, KYB Shocks

Do I NEED to replace anything in the rear or is that just personal preference?

Thanks for the help.

fulleclipse17

·
Builder Probe
292 Posts
Is there any sound accompanied with the vibration? When there is shake and sound over 30mph it's commonly related to the hubs. But if the rotors are old, they're cheap enough to replace anyways to test that first. New (good) hubs are like 90$ each. I've also heard (but offer no authority, I'm pretty newbie myself!) that drilled AND slotted rotors have bad longevity, that just one is preferable.