Mitsubishi Eclipse 3G Club banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am removing the aftermarket CD player the previous owner had installed. I have the original infinity HU. The installer of the new HU used the adapters suggested in several threads here. So I pulled my aftermarket out and I tried to hook up the antenna, 14PIN, DIN, and the other smaller PIN for display thinking I was in the clear- It wouldn't turn on. I heard what briefly sounded like the unit trying to eject a cd right when I initially plugged in the 14PIN, but other than that, I got no other indication that the unit was on (or even powered), no display on dash, no noise from speakers, nothing...Here are a few things that might be the cause, but I'm no expert.
1. the aftermarket was grounded- Does the stock have a spot to connect a ground? Sitting here typing, I don't think i ever remounted the unit when testing, just had it hooked up and kind of propped up/dangling so if it needs to be mounted to ground...?
2. the aftermarket was powered from 12v source straight to the HU, not through any adapter(previous install didn't use spot on adapter..not sure why.) Does the 14PIN carry the 12v?
3. The infinity unit has another DIN input (cd changer?), but I don't have the changer, can i leave this unoccupied?
3. As i obviously wasn't the owner who replaced the stock unit, i can't be sure it works, but it was in the trunk, so why keep a junked radio?? It is possible though that the POS doesn't even work.

2003 spyder GT
Yeah that's about all...
Oh one more thing, Thanks for any suggestions/ideas.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
The aftermarket doesn't really give me anything extra as i have no intention of upgrading other components, I can't use my wheel controls, and from what I've read, stock doesn't sound all that bad, maybe even better than new HU + OEM everything else.