Mitsubishi Eclipse 3G Club banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2001 Mitsubishi Eclipse GT Spyder
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello Everyone!

I recently completed an A/T to M/T swap on my 2001 Eclipse GT Spyder that I've been working on for the past several months. I apologize in advance, I don't have any pictures as I was in a rush to complete this project because I would have had to sell the car before moving out of state.

Backstory
In March of 2020, my auto transmission died on me and left me stranded. I've always wanted to drive my Eclipse as a manual, so I promised myself that if the auto trans ever died, I would swap the car to manual. So that's what I did. I spent several months doing research and trying to source parts, and finally, I was able to get a manual transmission from a local junkyard for about $400. The swap took me about 3 months of working on it off and on between work and waiting for parts. If you've got multiple people around and are an experienced mechanic, I could see this swap being done in less than 2 weeks.

For anyone who's curious, the cost of all of the parts was about $750, I got pretty much everything at a few local junkyards. I also had to buy a hoist and a leveler from Harbor Freight for $250. Fluids and various greases, misc. tools I didn't have, etc. were also another $150 or so making this project cost just shy of $1200. A rebuilt auto transmission near me was between $2500 and $3000, and I didn't want to risk getting a bad auto tranny from a junkyard (mine died at 90k miles), so the swap was the more logical solution for me. :p
___

Parts Needed
There are several parts you'll need for the job aside from the transmission. Some parts are interchangeable between 2.4L and 3.0L models. These parts are marked with (2.4).
You will need:

• Manual Transmission (F5M51 for 01 to 03 GT, possibly a different model # for 03+ GT and GTS)
  • Shifter (2.4)
  • Shift Cables (2.4)